Did dan blocker play football?

Yes. Dan Blocker, known as Hoss on the TV show Bonanza, in 1946 played football at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas. In 1947, he transferred to Sul Ross State Teacher's College in Alpine, Texas, where he was a star football player and graduated in 1950.