How long is the appalachian ridge line?

The Appalachian National Scenic Trail spans fourteen U.S. states during its roughly 2,200 miles or 3500 km long journey: Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.