Does elf on the shelf move?

Elf on the shelf moves to a new position and or scenario every night. Some are more exciting than others, but it is always fun to look for him.

---

It does but tries to not be noticed while it does some good deed and rapidly returns to the position it last recalled as to seem as if the elf barely moved so the person always wonders if it actually did move.