Is there a difference between cornmeal and corn starch?

Definitely, the two products are for very different things. Cornmeal is coarsely ground corn, while corn starch is finely ground corn endosperm, the tissue inside of the kernel.

---

Cornmeal is ground corn. Cornstarch is a refined powder made by removing the protein and fiber of the corn kernel, leaving only the starchy center called the endosperm.