What does the name ella means?

The name Ella is a girl's name of German, English origin meaning "all, completely; fairy maiden". Ella is also a modern Hebrew name meaning "goddess." In English speaking countries and Scandinavia, Ella developed as a diminutive for names beginning with El-, such as Eleanor and Elizabeth.