How big was the ponderosa on bonanza?

The Ponderosa was the fictional setting for Bonanza. According to the 9th episode "Mr. Henry Comstock" in the first season, it was a one thousand square mile (640,000 acre or 2,600 km2) ranch on the shores of Lake Tahoe, nestled high in the Sierra Nevada