Why is los angeles called the city of angels?

Los Angeles means, The Angels, in Spanish. It is an abbreviation of the original Spanish name, El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles del Río Porciúncula. In English, town of our lady the Queen of Angels of the River Porciúncula.