How long do i cook a ten pound chicken for?

A 10 lb. chicken is one big chicken! Older, larger birds typically average no more than 7 pounds and need to be roasted or stewed. The recommend roasting time at 350F is 20 minutes per pound plus 15 minutes. To stew a chicken, cook it in liquid on a low simmer for about 1 hour and 15 minutes.