What's the difference between generation x. and generation y.?

Gen X refers to the demographic cohort born between the early 1960s to around 1979 preceding Gen Y or Millennials. It's the generation that followed Baby Boomers. Gen Y, on the other hand, is the demographic cohort of people born between the early 1980s and 1994.