What is a visceral reaction?

A visceral reaction is an instinctive, gut-deep bodily response to a stimulus or experience. Neurotransmitters (chemical messengers in our brains) determine what emotions we feel and force a physical response.

---

"Visceral" literally means your internal organs, so to have a visceral reaction to something means you feel it in your insides. A classic visceral response is feeling sick to your stomach or even vomiting at the sight of something horrific, or when hearing about something really horrifying.