How long do a tortoise live?

Tortoises are the longest-living land animals in the world. Galápagos tortoises live over 150 years. An Aldabra giant tortoise named Adwaita may have lived an estimated 255 years. In general, most tortoise species can live 80–150 years.

---

Some species may only live 10 to 20 years in captivity, while others can live up to 150 years. In general, most turtle and tortoise species can live well into their 50s if provided appropriate care. Most turtles and tortoises should ideally live much longer in captivity than in the wild.