What kind of oil do you season cast iron with?

All cooking oils and fats can be used for seasoning cast iron, but based on availability, affordability, effectiveness, and having a high smoke point, Lodge ( a cast iron manufacturer) recommends vegetable oil, melted shortening, or canola oil