What does bad omen in minecraft do?

The Bad Omen status effect is obtained by killing a pillager wearing an ominous banner, if the player already had the effect it adds one level instead, when a player with this effect enters a village, it triggers a raid with a difficulty level equal to the level of the status effect the player had