Is tomato sauce and spaghetti sauce the same thing?

No. Spaghetti sauce is USUALLY made with a tomato base, but not always. It can also be clam sauce, alfredo sauce or garlic sauce--which have no tomatoes. Tomato sauce is just that--tomatoes made into sauce. Some sauces need to be seasoned, and others don't.