Why is coconut a fruit?

The coconut tree produces large roundish fruits which take 11 to 13 months to mature. Once mature, the outer husk of the fruit is removed leaving the dry hard shell of the seed which is what we typically see in our local supermarkets. The seed contains the white coconut flesh and coconut water.