Why did the japanese bomb pearl harbor in nineteen forty one?

The American navy was the only legitimate threat to Japanese naval supremacy in the Pacific Ocean. Simmering tensions between America and Japan existed due to exploitive trade agreements and American trade embargoes on petroleum and raw materials also contributed.