Why is candy corn called candy corn?

Because it's candy in the shape of corn kernels.

---

Many candies were made in shapes of pumpkins, chestnuts, and turnips, among others. Around the 1940s, when trick-or-treating began to gain popularity, people began calling the treat by its current name, candy corn