What does the senate do in star wars?

The senate in the Star Wars movies was supposed to represent democracy in the republic systems. Emperor palpitine was able to trick everyone, rise with emergency powers granted by senate, then never surrender power and uses the clone army to create the galactic empire. Very little, like US senators.