Why is a group of crows called a murder of crows?

It is a term of venery, special types of collective nouns that denote groups of animals, probably from the 15th century. Terms of venery were often based on percieved animal characteristics. Crows were often associated with the presence of death, macabre folklore, and dark color led to the term.