What is the average salary for a major league baseball player?

At the start of the 2022 season, the "average salary in the major leagues rebounded to $4.4 million on Opening Day," according to ESPN. By comparison, the current Major League Baseball collective bargaining agreement sets the minimum salary for 2022 at $700,000.