What's an example of a beta hydroxy acid?

Beta hydroxy acids, especially salicylic acid, are common in over-the-counter skincare products like face wash, moisturizer, acne cream, chemical exfoliants, chemical peels, and toner. Dermatologists prescribe BHA products with higher concentrations of salicylic acid to treat severe acne.