Do hamsters smell?

Hamsters don't stink but, if you aren't diligent, their cages sure will. A hamster's cage needs a full cleaning at least once a week. hamsters have a very sharp sense of smell, and particularly hate citrus scents, since the smell is overwhelming for them.