How do you preserve a cut apple?

Soak apple slices in salt water for a few minutes, then rinse before serving or storing. This brine keeps browning at bay for up to a week. Tossing cut apples in lemon juice will also keep them from browning. It will also impart extra tartness and lemon flavor to the apples