What is higher lieutenant or sergeant?

A sergeant is the highest grade of non-commissioned rank while lieutenant is the lowest grade of commissioned rank, therefore lieutenant is higher rank. Some sergeant grades are equivalent to higher grades of commissioned rank but are limited in authority to only over non-commissioned personnel.