What is the difference between a hollow point and a full metal jacket?

Standard military ammunition is a solid lead bullet coated with a full metal coating of a different material. Usually copper. A hollow point is just that. The end of the lead bullet has a hole in it to promote maximum expansion of the bullet. This transfers more energy into the target.