What causes a runoff election?

Runoff elections are held when no candidate wins the required majority of votes. Anyone who is registered to vote in Georgia can vote in federal, state, and local runoff elections.

---

A runoff election is required when no candidate wins enough of the votes to be considered a winner of the majority of the votes.