Who is shamu the whale?

Shamu was a killer whale (orca) that appeared in shows at SeaWorld San Diego in the mid-late 1960s. She was the fourth orca ever captured, and the second female. After her death, the name Shamu continued to be used in SeaWorld "Shamu" shows for different orcas in different SeaWorld parks.