What do red squirrels eat?

American red squirrels mainly feed on the seeds and cones of evergreen trees. However, they will also eat bird eggs, berries, and fruit when they are available. During the summer, American red squirrels collect and hide seeds and nuts so they have food storage during the lean winter times.