What's a dense fog?

Fog or smoke are considered dense when visibility is lowered to 1/4 mile or less. The combination of smoke and fog is a dangerous situation that can lower visiblity to zero. If dense fog is predicted or observed over a large enough area, the National Weather Service will issue a Dense Fog Advisory.