How does captain kirk die?

In the film, “Star Trek: Generations” , Captain James T Kirk dies shortly after falling with a piece of a collapsing bridge on planet Veridian 3 helping Captain Picard to save millions of lives from a mad scientist about to collapse a star in that system.