How do stars shine?

Stars shine because they are hot, very hot. As a star forms, pressure inside rises and causes temperature to rise as well. Once the temperature hits 15 million degrees Celsius, nuclear fusion begins in the star’s core. Nuclear fusion produces a lot of heat, which in turn makes the star emit light.