What is a red lunar eclipse?

An astrological event, also called a blood moon or supermoon. It occurs when Sun, Moon & Earth are aligned. According to NASA, the sunlight filters through Earth's atmosphere & scatters out the blue light. Remaining light reflects a glow onto the Moon's surface that makes it appear red.

---

A total lunar eclipse happens when the Moon travels through the Earth's umbra and blocks all direct sunlight from illuminating the Moon's surface. When this happens, the surface of the Moon takes on a reddish glow instead of going completely dark. It is a phenomenon called Rayleigh scattering.