How was mail sent in the past?

In early colonial times, letter writers sent their correspondence by friends, merchants and Native Americans via foot or horseback. By 1800, the Post Office Department had purchased a number of stagecoaches for mail transport. Steamboats were used for mail carrying where no roads existed.