What was the first product that had a barcode?

The first real-life scan of a barcode happened at a Marsh supermarket in Troy, Ohio on a pack of Wrigley's Juicy Fruit gum. Why gum? Because it's small: no one was sure a bar code would fit on something so tiny, and Wrigley earned a place in history by making it happen.