How do you take a screenshot on an ipad?

Locate the Home and Top (Power) buttons. Press and hold the Top button when viewing the screen you want to capture, then tap the Home button and release both. If you have a new, 2018 iPad Pro, then you need to find the Volume Up button, since there is no Home button.