How long does it take to grow a finger nail?

In humans, fingernails grow at an average rate of approx. 3.5 mm (0.14 in) a month, whereas toenails grow about half as quickly (approx. average 1.6 mm (0.063 in) a month). Fingernails require three to six months to regrow completely, and toenails require twelve to eighteen months.