Why is it called tic tac toe?

The name tic tac toe comes from a game by the same name, no longer played, in which players with their eyes closed tossed a pencil down onto a slate marked with numbers, and earned the score the number indicated -- something like blind darts. Tic-Tac is the sound the pencil makes as it lands.