What is the joker's laugh?

According to the Mayo Clinic, "Pseudobulbar affect (PBA) is a condition that's characterized by episodes of sudden uncontrollable and inappropriate laughing or crying."Echoing the language on the Joker's laminated card, PBA can indeed occur in people with brain injuries .