What happened in the united states in nineteen sixty eight?

The year 1968 saw the assassinations of both Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy. It was also the year that Richard Nixon was elected President of the United States and of Apollo 8 orbiting the moon as well as political unrest related to the War in Vietnam.