Were the peaky blinders real?

The peaky blinders were a real street gang operating in Birmingham England in from the 1880s to the 1910s.

---

The type of gangster the Peaky Blinders is based on was certainly real. It is based on true events from the show's creator, Steven Knight, who based his show on family memories from his parents. He says his father was a peaky blinder.