Was louis the fourteenth a cruel king?

The French King, Louis XIV, also known as the Sun King, was not particularly cruel, however he concentrated power in the monarchy that had previously belonged to the nobility, later giving rise to the dissatisfaction of the populace under King Louis XVI, and resulting in the French Revolution.