Who first said action speak louder than words?

Sources say that this expression date back as far as 1628. It was first used in its current form in the USA by Abraham Lincoln in 1856: 'Actions speak louder than words' is the maxim; and, if true, the South now distinctly says to the North, 'Give us the measures, you take the men.'