Is loki a hero or a villain?

Loki is sometimes called the Father of Lies, so he's really hard to pin down. He's often cast as the villain, but he's also sometimes an anti-hero, achieving good outcomes through questionable means. About the only thing we can say about him is that he should never be trusted.