What's the difference between a zucchini and cucumber?

Cucumbers are generally hard, waxy, and cool to the touch, while zucchini are more warm and yielding, with a slight grittiness under the fingertips. Most cucumbers have a bumpy exterior as well, while zucchini are smooth.