What kind of apples are used in apple pie?

Granny Smith apples are the best choice for apple pie. They soften when baked but still stay quite firm and hold their shape. The tartness also balances the sugar in the pie filling. Some recipes recommend using a mixture of Granny Smith and McIntosh apples.