How does voice box work?

The voice box, or larynx, contains two folds of tissue called the vocal cords, or vocal folds that can partly obstruct the airway. Air breathed out causes these folds to vibrate. Muscles tighten or loosen them, causing the rate of vibration, or pitch, to change.