Does natural gas have a smell?

Natural gas is an efficient, safe, colorless and odorless gas. For easy detection, we add a harmless chemical called mercaptan to give gas a distinctive odor. Most people describe the smell as rotten eggs or hydrogen sulfide like odor.

---

Actually, natural gas has no smell. But, Natural gas gives off a garlic-like smell. It can also be described as smelling like a rotten egg or sulfur. This smell is actually added to the natural gas by utility companies to warn customers of a potential leak, and a possible danger. .