What does putting cucumbers on your eyes do?

Cucumber has an anti-inflammatory effect that helps in reducing puffiness. The high water content helps in hydrating the skin and the cool temperature decreases the flow of blood to the space around your eyes. Together they can soothe the skin around your eyes and alleviate swelling.