How many whales are there in the world?

It's impossible to be sure of the total count because it's so difficult to count the many varieties of whales. There are about 15,000 Blue whales; 30 to 40,000 Humpback whales and 8 to 12,000 Bowhead whales. The total number of whales is not known, but exceeds 1 million.