How long does it take to season a cast iron pan?

How To Season Your Cast-Iron Skillet: Scrub skillet well in hot soapy water. Dry thoroughly. Spread a thin layer of melted shortening or vegetable oil over the skillet. Place it upside down on a middle oven rack at 375°. (Place foil on a lower rack to catch drips.) Bake 1 hour; let cool in the oven.